Mortimer to lead Senate Ed

As anticipated, Idaho Falls Republican Sen. Dean Mortimer was appointed chairman of the Senate Schooling Committee on Thursday.


Sen. Dean Mortimer, R-Idaho Falls

Mortimer, who performs as a contractor and builder in easter Idaho, is the longest serving member of the committee and previously held the post of vice chairman.

“I’m honored by the chance to serve as education chairman, and it is a significant responsibility,” Mortimer explained. “There are myriad stakeholders that have significant curiosity in the bettering of our education technique, and it’s going to be a substantial duty to coordinate those groups and try out and create optimistic outcomes.”

Mortimer will be charged with steering the nine-member committee via a transitional time period. Three Republican veterans of the committee – Sens. Russ Fulcher, R-Meridian, Monty Pearce, R-New Plymouth and fast previous Chairman John Goedde, R-Coeur d’Alene – are not returning to the Legislature.

In their spot, Senate leaders appointed two legislative rookies. Sens. Mary Souza, R-Coeur d’Alene and Lori Den Hartog, R-Meridian, joined the committee, along with veteran Sen. Shawn Keough, R-Sandpoint.

“There are new committee members, a new state superintendent and a new route for training with the twenty recommendations from the governor’s task force, and all of those things are going to come into perform and have a considerable impact on outcomes,” Mortimer mentioned. “It’s a large job ahead of us.”

Democratic Sens. Cherie Buckner-Webb and Janie Ward-Engelking, the two D-Boise, return to the Senate Schooling Committee.

Mortimer will also hold his seat on the spending budget-setting Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee.


Rep. Reed DeMordaunt, R-Eagle

Across the rotunda, House Schooling Chairman Reed DeMordaunt, R-Eagle, will continue to lead that committee, though changes are coming there as nicely.

Veteran Residence Education Committee members Wendy Horman and Linden Bateman, each R-Idaho Falls, and Pete Nielsen, R-Mountain Residence, are leaving the committee.

Rookie Rep. Ryan Kerby, superintendent of the New Plymouth School District will fill one particular of the spots whilst Rep. Sage Dixon, R-Ponderay, will consider one more.

The House Education Committee will operate with 15 members rather of sixteen.

Democratic Reps. Donna Pence, D- Gooding, and Hy Kloc and Ilana Rubel, the two D-Boise, return to the committee.

Horman is joining the effective price range-setting committee, JFAC, and stated she hope to take a lead role in carrying the K-12 college budget.

Leave a Reply