Notre Dame physicist among 2015 Breakthrough Prize winners

Peter Garnavich Peter Garnavich

The Breakthrough Prize Foundation has announced the recipients of the 2015 Breakthrough Prizes in Basic Physics and Existence Sciences. The foundation awarded $ 36 million in prizes to the world’s best scientists, including the Large-Z Supernova Search Staff, of which Peter Garnavich, professor of physics at the University of Notre Dame, is a member.

The 2015 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics has been awarded to the High-Z Supernova Search Crew and the Supernova Cosmology Project for their most sudden discovery that the expansion of the universe is accelerating, rather than slowing as had been prolonged assumed. In all, 50 astronomers played a function in the study, and all will get a piece of the prize, which will be split amongst two research teams.

The yearly Breakthrough Prizes, which include a trophy and $ three million to every laureate in basic physics, daily life sciences and mathematics, are sponsored by Google co-founder Sergey Brin and his wife, Anne Wojcicki, a founder of the genetics business 23andMe Alibaba Group founder Jack Ma and his wife, Cathy Zhang Russian entrepreneur and venture capitalist Yuri Milner and his wife, Julia and Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg and his wife, Priscilla Chan. The goal is to celebrate scientists and produce pleasure about the pursuit of science as a occupation.

Adam Riess and Brian Schmidt respresented the Higher-Z Supernova Search Staff, which includes Peter Challis, Alejandro Clocchiatti, Alan Diercks, Alexei V. Filippenko, Peter M. Garnavich, Ron L. Gilliland, Craig J. Hogan, Saurabh Jha, Robert P. Kirshner, Bruno Leibundgut, Mark M. Phillips, David Reiss, R. Chris Smith, Jason Spyromilio, Christopher Stubbs, Nicholas B. Suntzeff and John Tonry. The Supernova Cosmology Undertaking Staff B was represented by Saul Perlmutter staff members are Greg Aldering, Brian J. Boyle, Patricia G. Castro, Warrick J. Couch, Susana Deustua, Richard S. Ellis, Sebastien Fabbro, Alexei V. Filippenko, Andrew S. Fruchter, Ariel Goobar, Donald E. Groom, Isobel M. Hook, Mike Irwin, Alex G. Kim, Matthew Y. Kim, Robert A. Knop, Julia C. Lee, Chris Lidman, Thomas Matheson, Richard G. McMahon, Richard Muller, Heidi J. M. Newberg, Peter Nugent, Nelson J. Nunes, Reynald Pain, Nino Panagia, Carl R. Pennypacker, Robert Quimby, Pilar Ruiz-Lapuente, Bradley E. Schaefer and Nicholas Walton.

The 2nd annual Breakthrough Prize ceremony was held in Silicon Valley. The star-studded occasion was hosted by actor and comedian Seth McFarlane along with the award’s creators and Vanity Honest editor Graydon Carter. Presenters had been actors Kate Beckinsale, Cameron Diaz, Benedict Cumberbatch, Jon Hamm and Eddie Redmayne.

The ceremony will be broadcast by the Discovery Channel and Science Channel on Nov. 15 in the U.S., and by the BBC Globe News the weekend of Nov. 22.

Make contact with: Peter Garnavich, 574-631-7262

Leave a Reply